The NY Department of Environmental Conservation is divided into 9 basic regions You should wish to visit the Official DEC web site for detailed information.


Region 1 - Region 2 - Region 3 - Region 4 - Region 5 - Region 6 - Region 7 - Region 8 - Region 9

DEC's programs are delivered through nine regional offices and additional suboffices. Each region is headed by a regional director and is organized to serve the needs of communities within its boundaries. The regional office that serves your county is your first point of contact for obtaining and renewing DEC permits, reporting environmental or natural resource problems, finding the best places to hunt, fish and enjoy the outdoors and reaching any DEC program for any reason. The regional offices are listed below.

region1 Suffolk and Nassau counties (516) 444-0345

region2 Manhattan, Bronx, Queens, Brooklyn and Staten Island (718) 482-4900

region3 Sullivan, Ulster, Orange, Dutchess, Putnam, Rockland and Westchester counties (914) 256-3000

region4 Montgomery, Otsego, Delaware, Schoharie, Schenectady, Albany, Greene, Rensselaer and Columbia counties (518) 357-2234

region5 Franklin, Clinton, Essex, Hamilton, Warren, Fulton, Saratoga and Washington counties (518) 897-1200

region6 Jefferson, St. Lawrence, Lewis, Oneida and Herkimer counties (315) 785-2239

region7 Oswego, Cayuga, Onondaga, Madison, Tompkins, Cortland, Chenango, Tioga and Broome counties (315) 426-7400

region8 Orleans, Monroe, Wayne, Genesee, Livingston, Ontario, Yates, Seneca, Steuben, Schuyler and Chemung counties (716) 226-2466

region9 Niagara, Erie, Wyoming, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus and Allegany counties (716) 851-7000